I’m Going To Miss Ninjago…

Emily Rose
7 min readNov 23, 2019

It was better than it had any right to be.

Wait a minute, THIS is what that grown-ass woman is sobbing in the corner about? (Image credit: Youtube.com)

Lego Ninjago has been one of those little shows that could. It first premiered alongside other Cartoon Network shows that also stood the test of time (Steven Universe, Regular Show… teentitansgo, uhg…) and some that didn’t do so well. (Annoying Orange, anyone?) And now, a whopping eight years later, I’m rather sorry to say there isn’t more to be looked forward to in the coming year. Not unlike some of the other story-based shows it shared a block with, Ninjago concluded the epic tale it set out to tell, and ended earlier this year.

What is notable, though, is that Ninjago is the only one of the lot which actively set out to sell something. Based on a new line of Lego products, it wasn’t unlike He-Man, or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, in that the show was basically just a really long commercial advertising the action figures and all the stories you could reenact with them.

But I always had a soft spot for Ninjago. I had a feeling from the beginning that it was special, somehow different from the other hit shows it premiered with. After some reflection, I realized why.

It was early 2011 when Ninjago first aired. I was turning 19, and in my second year of culinary school. My little brother was five and going to school for the first time in his life. It was usually easier to be like…

--

--