I Delivered My Rapist’s Pizza

Emily Rose
6 min readJan 23, 2022

The moment I’ve been dreading for years finally arrived…

The asshole who ruined my life

After 10 years, I thought I’d be ready. I’ve stayed alert. I’ve rehearsed every possibility in my head a hundred times. I’ve done everything I thought I’d had to, and I should have been ready.

Because I’ve never been sure of where he’s gone lately, but I knew he was still in my city somewhere. So I’ve always been keenly aware. It’s always been entirely possible the cat would drag him back across my path.

Well, tonight was the night. And it just didn’t go as I had always planned it to.

I’ve been delivering pizzas, lo these few months. I enjoy delivery work more than I ever imagined I could. It’s a valuable service to my community right now, and I love being able to stand in that gap for people. It takes me all over my borough, and you meet a lot of different people with a lot of different situations.

I normally don’t mind the variables; but back when I was delivering for Instacart, I could never help feeling triggered when I found myself driving through the subdivision where my rotten ex-boyfriend’s mother lives. I never knew if I would find myself driving up to her house, only for him to answer the door.

Ever since I finally pushed him out of my life all those years ago, I’ve spent too much of my energy…

--

--